[Lestrades.com] Nao 尚

  • I'm Share-Locked
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 1,396
  • Trades: 222
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #255, on March 30th, 2021, 11:17 PM »
I apologize for the downtime today. It was due to a faulty SQL query I wrote to execute something else faster, but that ended up being so slow it killed the server. Oops!

/u/humpaaa

  • Full Member
  • ▶ ¦ Yep
  • Posts: 190
  • Trades: 10

[Lestrades.com] Nao 尚

  • I'm Share-Locked
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 1,396
  • Trades: 222
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #257, on August 18th, 2021, 10:55 PM »
I know, I know, devotee is the one in charge of the server, but he's often AWOL...
He assured me a while ago that he had an auto-renewal script enabled for the site, but it's obviously not working, so we're probably condemned to have this issue every few months.
Unless someone wants to volunteer their server for future hosting, I can't fix that on my side, I'm afraid.
I did tell him on Steam chat, but I don't want to bother him too much.
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #258, on August 29th, 2021, 12:22 PM »
I've sent Devotee an e-mail, which he's more likely to notice than his Steam messages.
Hopefully, it'll be fixed quickly...

Super annoying. :-/
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #259, on October 7th, 2021, 02:55 PM »
So, still no answer from Devotee... It's like he doesn't care, or isn't online anymore.

My PC died on me last week, and I'm still in the process of restoring everything on the new one. It's taking time. I haven't got access to the FTP yet. But it made me think, I really should move the website to another server. Especially since the online services are starting to die out mostly because of the SSL failure -- for instance, SteamTrades ratings are no longer updated. Also, it looks like there are missing bundles in the bundle page. The latest Humble Choice isn't showing up, despite trying to update it manually. I don't know if it's related to SSL or maybe they changed their code, but right now I can't test, because I don't have my usual tools installed.

So, in the meantime, has anyone got some space somewhere..? Lestrade's isn't that big of a website, it doesn't take gigabytes of data, it just needs a robust MySQL setup and at most a Gb of folder space (possibly less.)
Unfortunately, on my other host, I don't have the space for that.

I don't want to let LT's die. There are still hundreds of users who would like to keep it online. I'm sure one of you guys is in IT and has a server available..?
Even a slower one is fine. LT's code is optimized enough that it doesn't need a fast CPU.

Pika! Pika!

  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 52
  • Trades: 74
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #260, on October 8th, 2021, 12:08 AM »
Hopefully Devotee can still be reached or someone else has a server available. Alternatively maybe there is enough demand for it to have numerous members chip in a small amount for online hosting.

devotee

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 29
  • Trades: 14
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #261, on October 8th, 2021, 06:26 PM »
Just a quick update.

The auto-renewal script is working but Let’s Encrypt migrated from ACME v1 to v2 and dropped all support to v1. Unfortunately I can't upgrade certbot on the server to use the new ACME v2 protocol.

I'm going to try to use another client to renew the certificate but the best approach would be to update the whole server to the latest Debian release (11). I was waiting for a new release before upgrading. However that's another issue because reinstalling the server means quite a lot of work to do (and probably some downtime).


Posted: October 8th, 2021, 03:50 PM

Fixed.

[Lestrades.com] Nao 尚

  • I'm Share-Locked
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 1,396
  • Trades: 222
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #263, on October 15th, 2021, 01:56 PM »
@devotee
Quote from devotee on October 8th, 2021, 03:50 PM
The auto-renewal script is working but Let’s Encrypt migrated from ACME v1 to v2 and dropped all support to v1. Unfortunately I can't upgrade certbot on the server to use the new ACME v2 protocol.
Unfortunately, SSL communication between servers still isn't established. I looked at my code and it just says error 0 when I try to get a file through curl.
When I use file_get_contents over SSL, it gives me this:

error:14090086:SSL routines:SSL3_GET_SERVER_CERTIFICATE:certificate verify failed

Apparently meaning there's a problem with the cacert.pem file location or related configuration.
This has been going on since October 7, one day before your message, so I'm guessing it's related to your intervention.

Because of that, bundles have yet to be updated. Nothing since September 30. Quite annoying.
Do you have somewhere I can contact you in priority? Last time I tried e-mail and Steam, and no replies for weeks... :-/
WhatsApp, Discord, anything? Something modern? You know I'm only going to write to mention these issues... And it also helps with your own websites...

devotee

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 29
  • Trades: 14
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #264, on October 19th, 2021, 06:33 PM »Last edited on November 3rd, 2021, 11:34 PM by [Lestrades.com] Nao 尚
I think this has happened before and can be fixed in your code:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/26148701/file-get-contents-ssl-operation-failed-with-code-1-failed-to-enable-crypto

You can try disabling ssl verifications (if you trust the sites you're contacting)

Code: [Select]
$arrContextOptions=array(
    "ssl"=>array(
        "verify_peer"=>false,
        "verify_peer_name"=>false,
    ),
); 

$response = file_get_contents("[url]https://maps.co.weber.ut.us/arcgis/rest/services/SDE_composite_locator/GeocodeServer/findAddressCandidates?Street=&SingleLine=3042+N+1050+W&outFields=[/url]*&outSR=102100&searchExtent=&f=json", false, stream_context_create($arrContextOptions));

or using lestrades' own cert:

Code: [Select]
$arrContextOptions= [
    'ssl' => [
        'cafile' => (Edited out by Nao.),
        'verify_peer'=> true,
        'verify_peer_name'=> true,
    ],
];

$response = file_get_contents(
    'https://maps.co.weber.ut.us/arcgis/rest/services/SDE_composite_locator/GeocodeServer/findAddressCandidates?Street=&SingleLine=3042+N+1050+W&outFields=*&outSR=102100&searchExtent=&f=json',
    false,
    stream_context_create($arrContextOptions)
);

As I said on a previous comment, the best approach would be to reinstall the whole server since some things aren't updated anymore (I'm guessing this has to do with the sitewide certificates having expired, but I don't know which ones or where they are located -and if it's "easy" to renew them manually).

[Lestrades.com] Nao 尚

  • I'm Share-Locked
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 1,396
  • Trades: 222
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #265, on October 20th, 2021, 01:38 PM »
@devotee Thanks for the URL to the full certificate. I didn't have it, meaning the SSL code was never working well.
I finally managed to enable SSL communication between Lestrade's and Barter.vg or SteamTrades :)
Unfortunately, this doesn't seem to work on ITAD...
So, my guess is that the webmaster decided he wanted to forbid requests from external websites, even though I'm really, really kind with his server (I only hit it 48 times per day...)

I don't know what to do, then. Either contact the webmaster and ask for help/understanding, or give up on ITAD (I really haven't used it in years) as a bundle source, and focus on BVG for them, exclusively. It's not great either, because if BVG ends up dying, well... It's back to ITAD.
Also, I certainly do NOT have the time to write some extra scraping code for BVG. Plus I'm already hitting it a lot (compared to ITAD, I mean.) There's a limit to what I can expect of the admin to understand.
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #266, on October 25th, 2021, 09:40 PM »
How many of you are directly affected by the lack of bundles being added to the site..? Is it even worth finding a fix? (If it can be found... I mean it's now established that I'd probably have to contact the admin at ITAD to ask him to allow me to scrape his bundle page twice hourly, like I always do...)
I really don't feel like rewriting the entire bundle section just to be a duplicate of batter's. Sure, they've steadily improved it since when I write my ITAD scraper (they've now caught up with older bundles, and are arguably a better source for bundle contents), but there's no API for it, and I'm already scraping so much data from bvg for the game and tradable databases, it's a bit much to me...
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #267, on November 3rd, 2021, 11:08 PM »
Fixed an issue where it had become impossible to log into Lestrade's.

(I'm officially angry at this server.)
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #268, on November 4th, 2021, 12:49 AM »
Aaaand... Bundles fixed!

The problem wasn't in the ITAD connection, it was due to a change Devotee made to the SSL configuration that I have no idea about, but his fix from above didn't work. I had to work around this for the second time in 10 days, but this time it worked for ITAD. I'm not super happy with the fix, but it'll do for now.
I'll have to see if I can re-import some of the missing bundles. (I think the site only imports non-expired bundles, so anything that was both created and expired in August/September would be missing.)
Posted: November 3rd, 2021, 11:33 PM

All of the missing bundles should now be back! :cool:

devotee

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 29
  • Trades: 14
Re: Issue(s)
« Reply #269, on December 18th, 2021, 05:14 PM »
Quote from [Lestrades.com]Nao 尚 on November 3rd, 2021, 11:08 PM
Fixed an issue where it had become impossible to log into Lestrade's.

(I'm officially angry at this server.)
What was the problem? Again, I haven't touched anything on the server so I don't understand why it suddenly stopped working.